About Us

Board Meetings

Unless otherwise noted here,The LSWDD board meets on the third

Wednesday of each month, 1pm-3pm at the Lopez Island Fire Hall.

 

Background

In December 2011, the San Juan County Council elected to cease operating all solid waste facilities in the Islands and to

invite commercial carriers and other entities to submit proposals for providing these services.

 

Concerned Lopez citizens lobbied the County Council to consider another option for Lopez which would enable a Lopez community organization to assume responsibility for the solid waste program and facility. In response to a request for a show of support, 1418 Lopez voters, property owners, and other individuals (including 962 registered voters from Lopez) signed a petition supporting establishment of a Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District and pledging to help fund the District with property tax support.

 

The Council appointed an Advisory Board to pursue development of a program and negotiate terms with the County. On June 26, 2012, the Council formally established a Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District and appointed a five-member Board of Directors. The LSWDD assumed full formal control of the solid waste and recycling operation on January 1, 2013.

Staff

Laurie Bullock | District Manager and Public Records Official | laurieb@lopezsolidwaste.org

David Zapalac|Facility Manager | davidz@lopezsolidwaste.org

Nikyta Palmisani|Training, Education & Outreach Coordinator | nikytap@lopezsolidwaste.org

Gary Lawrence | Facility Administrator | garyl@lopezsolidwaste.org

Eric Blaser| Operations Assistant | eblaser@lopezsolidwaste.org

Colby White | Assistant Facility Manager | colbyw@lopezsolidwaste.org

Dan Post | Driver

Ron Shively| Driver

Volunteer Coordinator

Carol Steckler, 468-2138. Please contact Carol with questions about volunteer tasks and shift hours, applying to volunteer, scheduling, or any other volunteer matters.

Board 

LSWDD operates under a Governing Board comprised of all current members of the San Juan County Council, as well as a Managing Board:

Clark Johnson | Chair | clarkj@lopezsolidwaste.org | Position #5, term expires 12/31/2020

Rhea Miller | Vice Chair | rheam@lopezsolidwaste.org |Position #4; term expires 12/31/2020

Larry Bailey | Secretary | larryb@lopezsolidwaste.org | Position #1; term expires 12/31/2022

Clay Smith | clays@lopezsolidwaste.org | Position #2; term expires 12/31/2022

Gene Helfman | geneh@lopezsolidwaste.org | Position #6; term expires 12/31/2022

Regular monthly LSWDD Managing Board meetings will be the third Wednesday of the month from 1 to 3 PM until further notice.

To apply for open board position: Download Application

Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District (LSWDD)

PO Box 922

2419 Fisherman Bay Rd

Lopez Island, WA 98261

www.lopezsolidwaste.org

(360) 468-2555

Current Hours: Friday, Saturday, Sunday all services, 11am-3pm

Your participation is the key to helping LSWDD achieve its fullest potential. Please consider volunteering today.

​© 2017 Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District