In December 2011, the San Juan County Council elected to cease operating all solid waste facilities in the Islands and to invite commercial carriers and other entities to submit proposals for providing these services. Concerned Lopez citizens lobbied the County Council to consider another option for Lopez which would enable a Lopez community organization to assume responsibility for the solid waste program and facility. In response to a request for a show of support, 1418 Lopez voters, property owners, and other individuals (including 962 registered voters from Lopez) signed a petition supporting establishment of a Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District and pledging to help fund the District with property tax support. The Council appointed an Advisory Board to pursue development of a program and negotiate terms with the County. On June 26, 2012, the Council formally established a Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District and appointed a five-member Board of Directors. The LSWDD assumed full formal control of the solid waste and recycling operation on January 1, 2013.


Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District (LSWDD) provides a convenient local facility for solid waste collection with reuse and recycle options, operated in a fiscally, socially, and environmentally responsible manner with a goal to educate and inspire the community to reduce waste.


P.O. Box 922, Lopez Island, WA 98261



LSWDD Governing Body: County Council (Rick Hughes, Bill Watson, Jamie Stephens)

LSWDD Managing Board: see below for more information

LSWDD Staff:

Solid Waste District Manager, Paul Andersson:

Solid Waste Facility Manager, David Zapalac:

Solid Waste Facility Administrator, Gary Lawrence:

Training, Outreach and Education Coordinator, Nikyta Palmisani:

Driver, Ron Shively

Driver, Dan Post

Operations Assistant, Eric Blaser

Volunteer Coordinator: Carol Steckler (volunteer)


District Manager, Paul Andersson:


Administration and Finance: Clark Johnson, Paul Andersson, Gary Lawrence, Bill Clemens 

Operations:  Clark Johnson, David Zapalac, Gary Lawrence, Jim Lombard

Take-it-Or-Leave-It: Joanne Bryant, Tytti Langford, Maria Mendez, Susan Muckle, Nikyta Palmisani, Carol Steckler

Signage: Mac Langford, Linda Noreen, Nikyta Palmisani

Management: Clark Johnson, Rhea Miller, Paul Andersson, David Zapalac

Public Relations: Tytti Langford, Rhea Miller, Paul Andersson, Nikyta Palmisani


The San Juan County Council appointed the following individuals to serve on the Lopez Solid Waste Disposal District Managing Board.

Clark Johnson (Chair), 468-4949 (position #5, term expires 12/31/2020

Tytti Langford, 468-4015 (Position #4; term expires 12/31/2018)

Judy Meyer (Secretary), 468-2136 (Position #6; term expires 12/31/2018)

Rhea Miller (Vice Chair), 468-3654 (position #1; term expires 12/31/2020)



See  Also: Board Member Biographies

To apply for open board position: Download Application